Parents & Families
Faculty & Staff

Early Childhood Program


Windsor C-1 School District Early Childhood Education

Program Contact Information

Janelle Dinwiddie, Process Coordinator
Email: jdinwiddie@windsor.k12.mo.us

Phone: (636)464-4423

 

The Windsor C-1 School District has two types of early childhood programs, housed at both Windsor and Freer Elementary, based upon where the child lives. The first program is Early Childhood Special Education. Children are eligible for this program if they are between the ages of 3 years old and 5 years old, and have an IEP (Individualized Education Plan) for special needs in at least one area. ECSE is a half day program, Monday – Thursday. In each session, 1-3 children also attend who do not have special needs. These children are chosen from a waiting list after having been screened by Parents as Teachers.  Our second early childhood program is Title One Pre-Kindergarten, which is geared to help children who may be at risk for success in kindergarten. To participate in this program during their pre-kindergarten year, children must turn 4 on or before July 31. Children are found eligible for this program if they score below the 50th percentile (average) in any one area (Motor, Concepts or Language) on the DIAL-4 Screener completed by Parents as Teachers. Children are automatically eligible if their family qualifies as low income (WIC or food stamps), English Language Learners, or homeless.  Please take a look at our Early Childhood Handbook (link found below) for more information about our program including upcoming events.

Early Childhood handbook Early Childhood Handbook

A new addition to our Early Childhood Handbook (10/1/15): In accordance with MO SB 341 section 210.003.1, the Windsor C-1 Early Childhood and Title 1 programs will notify parents and guardians, upon parent or guardian request, of whether there are children currently enrolled in or attending the facility that have filed an immunization exemption.

Below are contact links for each of our Early Childhood Special Education teachers:

Kristen Barnowski

website

email: kbarnowski@windsor.k12.mo.us

Jenny Belmar

website

email: jbelmar@windsor.k12.mo.us

Sarah Darnton

website

email: sdarnton@windsor.k12.mo.us

Brittany Rosener

website

email: brosener@windsor.k12.mo.us

Whitney Schwartz

website

email: wschwartz@windsor.k12.mo.us

 

Below are contact links for each of our Title One Pre-k teachers:

Danielle Flamm

website

email: dflamm@windsor.k12.mo.us

Rachel Davis
website

email: rdavis@windsor.k12.mo.us

 

Upcoming Early Childhood Events:

Due to Covid 19, all plans for family involvement activities, classroom parties, etc, are on hold at this time. If circumstances become safe for large groups to gather and we are able to plan family involvement activities, we will send home information by the Remind app, email, and paper flyers. Events will also be posted on this page.

 

OTHER HELPFUL LINKS FOR EARLY CHILDHOOD FAMILIES:

Parents As Teachers, Janelle Dinwiddie – Coordinator
Mindy Ford and Cathy Theiss, Parent Educators
Website

email for Mindy Ford: mford@windsor.k12.mo.us

email for Cathy Theiss: ctheiss@windsor.k12.mo.us

Main Head Start
636-789-3563

Please see the “Resources” section of the Early Childhood Handbook for other family resources.

 

Thank you and we are looking forward to a great year!!